Using Google Transfer and Google Takeout

Using Google Transfer and Google Takeout, you can migrate data from your Upper St. Clair Student (@uscstudents.org) Google account to any other Google account.

Using Google Transfer and Google Takeout allows you to:

  • Back up your files from time to time
  • Keep important files when you graduate, switch schools, or leave for another reason

Google Transfer

You can copy and transfer these kinds of files from your USC Students account to another Google Account:

  • Email in Gmail (not contacts, chats, or tasks)
  • Documents that you own in Google Drive (except files in the "Google Photos" section of Drive)
  • Documents in My Drive

Your original files will stay in your school account until it is disabled at the end of the school year. Any changes you make to the copied files in your non-USC Google Account do not affect the original files in your USC Google Drive.

Please note that if files in your Google Drive match either (or both) of these conditions, they will not be copied.

  • You are a viewer, not an editor or owner
  • The owner has turned off download, print, and copy options

Copy & transfer your files

Each time you copy files from your school account, a new set of copies is created in your Google Account.

Prepare your files

To copy content that other people have shared with you, follow the directions here in order to add those files to My Drive.

Start the copy process

  1. On your school account, go to https://takeout.google.com/transfer
  2. Enter the email address of the Google Account where you want to copy your content.
  3. Select Get code.
  4. On your Google Account, check your Gmail inbox for a confirmation email from Google. In the email, select Get confirmation code. A new tab will open with a code.
  5. On your school account, go back to the "Transfer your content" page. Enter the code, then choose Verify.
  6. Choose the content you'd like to copy, then select Start transfer.

Details about the copy process

  • The copy process usually happens within a few hours, but it can take up to a week.
  • Copied files might appear in batches on your Google Account during the copy process.
  • When your files are finished copying, you'll get an email at your Gmail address.

See your copied files

To see the files you've copied, sign in to Gmail or Google Drive with your Google Account.

  • Gmail: Copied content will have a label with your school account name and the date you started the copy process.
  • Drive: Copied content will be in a folder labeled with your school account name and the date you started the copy process.

What changes on copied files

There are a few important changes that happen on files copied from Google Drive:

  • You automatically become the file owner of all copied files. (The owners of the original files remain the same.)
  • Copied files aren't shared with others. (You can always choose to share them.)
  • Comments are copied, but revision history isn't.

View transfer history

To see details about content you've copied in the past 30 days:

  1. Go to Transfer your content.
  2. Select Manage transfer history.

Google Takeout

Using Google Takeout, you can export and download your data from the Google products you use, like your email, calendar, and photos. In a few easy steps, create an archive to keep for your records or use the data in another service.

Note: Downloading your data does not delete it from Google’s servers.

First, choose which products to include

  1. Visit the Google Takeout page (https://takeout.google.com/settings/takeout). You might have to sign in to your Google Account.
  2. Choose which Google products to include in your download. To see more details and options for a product, select the down arrow.
  3. Select Next.
  4. Choose your archive's File type. Usually, ZIP is the best format to choose.

Note: If you have Google Play Music data in your account, your content isn't included when you create an archive.

Next, choose how your archive is delivered

  1. For "Delivery method," select Send download link via email.
  2. Choose Create archive.
  3. In the email that arrives, click Download archive.
  4. To download your data, follow the onscreen instructions.

When your archive is created, we'll email you a link to its location. Depending on the amount of information in your account, this process could take a few minutes or several hours. Most people get the link to their archive the same day that they request it.

  • 28
  • 14-Jun-2017
  • 280 Views